Act Now! – St. John’s Port Authority workers need your help

Bargaining has reached an impasse between Public Service Alliance of Canada members and the St. John’s Port Authority. Act now by sending a letter to stakeholders with the St. John’s Port Authority. This includes: Minister of Labour Seamus O’Regan, Minister of Transport of Canada Omar Alghabra,  Newfoundland and Labrador Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure Elvis Loveless, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador Andrew Furey, St. John’s City Mayor Danny Breen, St. John’s Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O’Leary and CEO of the St. John’s Port Authority Sean Hanrahan .

You can help these members by showing your support in their collective bargaining. Right now, the St. John’s Port Authority is refusing to negotiate fair language around the standby clause in the collective agreement.

  • The employer is leaving workers to continue working overtime hours without proper compensation;
  • This standby work takes up huge chunks of a worker’s life without any predictability of work time; and
  • This takes advantage of the definition of standby which often means that these members end up working for less than minimum wage on average over a standby period.

As a constituent and a member of the broader public who understands the importance of the work that these members do, you can help us by sending a letter to key stakeholders. Make sure that they get the message – to get back to the table, negotiate in good faith and agree to a tentative agreement that respects the important and integral work of these PSAC members.

[fusion_button link=”” text_transform=”” title=”” target=”_self” link_attributes=”” alignment=”” modal=”” hide_on_mobile=”small-visibility,medium-visibility,large-visibility” class=”” id=”” color=”default” button_gradient_top_color=”” button_gradient_bottom_color=”” button_gradient_top_color_hover=”” button_gradient_bottom_color_hover=”” accent_color=”” accent_hover_color=”” type=”” bevel_color=”” border_width=”” border_radius=”” border_color=”” border_hover_color=”” size=”” stretch=”default” icon=”” icon_position=”left” icon_divider=”no” animation_type=”” animation_direction=”left” animation_speed=”0.3″ animation_offset=””]TAKE ACTION[/fusion_button]

Union of Canadian Transportation Employees

233 Gilmour Street, Suite 702
Ottawa, Ontario, K2P 0P2


***(Quick heads-up: the 2 buttons  above this line lead to external sources not managed by the UCTE.)***

© 1969-2024 | Union of Canadian Transportation Employees | All Rights Reserved.